Sentence Examples

  • There are three agricultural seasons: (I) summer (sefi), 1st of April to 3ist of July, when crops are grown only on land under perennial irrigation; (2) flood (Nih), 1st of August to 3oth of November; and (3) winter (shetwi), 1st of December to 31st of March.
  • Cotton, sugar and rice are the chief summer crops; wheat, barley, flax an.d vegetables are chiefly winter crops; maize, millet and flood rice are Nih crops; millet and vegetables are also, but in a less degree, summer crops.